Monthly Archives: March 2011

Well done to the Under 12 chess team that represented Tipperary in the Munster Community Games. The competition was held in UL Sports Arena on Saturday 26th March. The team faced Limerick in the semi-final and despite a gallant performance, they didn’t advance to the final. Nonetheless a very enjoyable day was had by all and many thanks to their parents for making the journey on Saturday. Team: David O Donnell, Noel Lyons, David Ryan, Declan Ryan, Eimear Ryan and Brian O Connell.

On Monday 23rd May our chess team received their gold medals for representing Tipperary in the Munster Community Games. Well done again!!

Under 12 Chess Team 2011

Last Friday, 11th March we held a very successful Energy Action Day. The children were asked to design a costume that reflected our need to save energy, both at home and at school. The response from everybody was fantastic and we say a big thank you to all the children and parents who helped to make the costumes. Three winners were chosen from each classroom and they received their prizes on Monday from Ms. Spain. There was also prizes for the best posters which were designed with our Green Code “You’re better off when you switch it off ” in mind.

An seachtain seo chaite, chuaigh páisti o Scoil Mochaomhog Naofa go leabharlann Durlas Eile chun páirt a ghlacadh i Tráth na gCeist. Bhain siad an- taitneamh as an lá sin agus bhuaigh siad an triú áit. Fuair siad deochanna agus criospai tar éis na ceisteanna. Chuaigh Mrs. McCullagh in éineacht leis an bhfoireann. Is iad a bhi ar an bhfoireann ná: Peadar Tunstall, Brian ó Longáin, Cillian ó Chaomhánach agus Máire Ni Lanagáin.

Bronze medal winning team

 On 4th March 2011 our school entered 3 teams in the Under 14 community games table quiz which was held in the Presentation Secondary hall in Thurles. Each team performed admirably on the night with the team of Michael Maher, Michael Murphy, James Dillon and David Ryan finishing joint second.The other two teams comprised Conor Dunne, Conor Maher, Laura Gleeson, Jack Hackett, John Cussen, Kieran Kearney, Daniel Ryan and Greg Foley.